David Black Award

NPA chairman Richard Lister has won the coveted David Black Award

NPA chairman Richard Lister has won the coveted David Black Award in recognition of the ‘pioneering leadership’ he has shown in the pig industry’s efforts to dramatically reduce antibiotic use.

The prestigious award was presented for the first time at the National Pig Awards. The award, inspired by groundbreaking Norfolk pig farmer David Black, has, for more than 60 years, been presented to individuals or businesses who have made an outstanding contribution to the success of the pig industry.

Presenting the award in front of 430 guests, AHDB pork sector board chairman Mike Sheldon highlighted the pig industry’s tremendous achievement in reducing usage by 60% over the past few years.

He said Richard, who farms in Yorkshire and Nottinghamshire, demonstrated ‘pioneering leadership’ in helping to establish the first ever industry targets to encourage the responsible reduction of antibiotic usage as part of the RUMA Targets Task Force.

“No other pig-producing European country has taken such a courageous approach to antibiotic stewardship with voluntary targets and we celebrate his contribution to this outstanding achievement.”

“Richard has been a force for good, leading the way and demonstrating, on his own unit, the benefits of investment in health and biosecurity. He leads the National Pig Association with a strong voice and remains determined to ensure the sector is represented fairly and accurately to the wider industry, Government and consumers.

“He has frequently represented the industry in the media and has never let the sector down, shining a light on the high standards maintained to produce pork from Britain.”

Richard said he was honoured to receive the award and praised the industry-wide effort in reducing and refining antibiotic usage, while stressing also that there is more work to be done. He gave a special mention to Mark White, of the Pig Veterinary Society, who also represented the pig sector on the task force.

Previous 10 Winners

  • 2009 Prof Sandra Edwards
  • 2010 Meryl Ward
  • 2011 Paul Toplis
  • 2012 Heather Jenkins
  • 2013 Pete Bown
  • 2014 Ladies in Pigs
  • 2015 Andrew Knowles
  • 2016 Susanna Williamson
  • 2017 Charlie Allen
  • 2018 Mick Sloyan